QUICK REVIEW: FIRST AND THEN

23310751

SUMMARY

Devon Tennyson wouldn’t change a thing. She’s happy watching Friday night games from the bleachers, silently crushing on best friend Cas, and blissfully ignoring the future after high school. But the universe has other plans. It delivers Devon’s cousin Foster, an unrepentant social outlier with a surprising talent for football, and the obnoxiously superior and maddeningly attractive star running back, Ezra, right where she doesn’t want them first into her P.E. class and then into every other aspect of her life.

Pride and Prejudice meets Friday Night Lights in this contemporary novel about falling in love with the unexpected boy, with a new brother, and with yourself.

MY THOUGHTS: 

DISCLAIMER: I’m experimenting with dropping the blog thing- I’ll miss Netgalley, of course, but I’m so busy that it’s hard to find time to read, let alone write the type of reviews that I love the most- long, exhaustive, full of rants and feels, etc. So I’ve been taking a little bit of time off and will continue to do so (my reviews, when I write them, still go up on Goodreads, but are often very quick and address concerns I see from other readers). This is an example of a very quick goodreads review I wrote after reading First and Then. 

Exactly what I needed. A light, quick read that takes you back home to high school football and daydreams about those brooding heroes. Definitely going on my list of comfort books to read when I’m down.

I’m seeing a lot of reviews bashing First & Then because of the issues it doesn’t go into detail about- Foster’s Mom, Marabelle, etc- but I think it’s okay that we don’t get into the gritty details of their messy lives. This isn’t meant to be a serious discussion of the issues that people face- it’s a fun, easy romance, one to sit down and smile at, to enjoy the growth of a few characters and that hometown feel of community even when things get bad. I, for one, was glad there weren’t pages upon pages of the mess. Sometimes, that’s what we need to escape when we read, and that’s why I live books like First and Then. It helps us all to remember that sometimes, it’s not wrong to just take a few hours and relax and not think about all the horrible details and underlying trauma-we can just enjoy the love of football and family.

I’ll add my What to Watch as well: 

This is your basic high school scene, so there is mention of drugs, some brief underage drinking, and some innuendos. But there is nothing graphic and I would have no problem recommending this to a high-school age teen (maybe not a freshman- they should worry more about their GPAs :D)

So, not a huge review and not very in-depth, but I’ve been really enjoying my time off, even though I have been working (slowly) on my 2 challenges for this month. I completed a book for #RockMyTBR, and expect to see a post on that soon! Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

