ARC AUGUST WRAPUP

MY FINAL RESULTS

If you don’t remember, here were my goals for ARC August- I had 4 books I wanted to read this month. Here’s the link: ARC August is Upon Us!

How did I do? I was wondering the same thing myself.

While I did read four (and a half!) ARCs this month, only one (and a half!) I planned to read. The one I finished: The Scorpion Rules (click the links in the titles to see the reviews) by Erin Bow. I was really disappointed in that one, and couldn’t believe one of the most hyped fall books fell so short for me.

The second ARC I finished this month was The Fixer, by Jennifer Lynn Barnes. That one DID live up to everything I had heard about it- a solid plot, exciting, dynamic characters, and a great finish that left me wanting more. I can’t wait for book two- and congrats to J. Barnes for writing the only ARC I read that I enjoyed this month!

The third ARC I read was one that I borrowed from the YA librarian where I work- A Thousand Nights, by E.K. Johnston. I didn’t write a review for that one, mostly because I really didn’t know what to think. I liked the writing, but I was often confused and a little freaked out, and it fell far short of the bar that Renee Ahdieh’s The Wrath and the Dawn set in May of this year.

My fourth ARC was absolutely the worst. Really, one of the worst books I’ve read in a long, long time. Awake, by Natasha Preston, fell short of everything that spoke well of it, even if that was just the summary. My twitter chat review included in the post really explains everything, so make sure you check that out.

As for the half, I’m about that far into Vengeance Road, which releases tomorrow, and once I get my hard copy I’ll probably finish it out with the real pages. Something about paper just makes it so much easier to read, and my allergies make my eyes hurt too much to stare at a computer screen for long! But Erin’s writing is just stellar so far, and it’s my own fault that I haven’t gotten it finished before now!

So there you have it, my boring, pictureless post of my ARC August review- but the reviews themselves have pictures, so go check those out! And many thanks to Read.Sleep.Repeat for hosting the event! I had a blast this year and can’t wait for next year’s ARC August blitz!

Questions? Comments? Books you’d like me to review? Post a comment below and I’ll be sure to check it out!

Leave a Reply

