TAG: SECRET LIFE OF A BOOK BLOGGER

ONCE AGAIN, SLOW ON THE UPTAKE

I’m a loser. That’s what it is. Even so, I’ve been nominated for some really cool things that I’m going to get done, finally. This hiatus of a lazy blogger has been interrupted by the LOVELY Sydney at Books and Stuff for the Secret Life of a Book Blogger tag!

(Now I can stop watching Netflix for a little while)

1. How long have you been a blogger?
My first post was July 19th of last year, so that’s been a little over a year, and I don’t even know if I count that because I was so irregular.

2. At what point do you think you’ll stop?
I don’t think I will. I might get super inconsistent because I get busy, but I love writing reviews (even though they take FOREVER) and getting to gush about books without my mom/friends/random strangers being annoyed with me.

3. What is the best thing?
The best thing? Finding other people who are totally okay with ranting and raving about books/movies/Suits/hot guys because I don’t have a lot of people as crazy as me. It’s also laying in bed with Netflix on while I read a book that only makes me happy.  Also, happy endings. I don’t like to live without a happy ending (or at least the potential for one).

4. What is the worst thing? What do you do to make it okay?
About blogging? When I feel pressured, like I HAVE to get this book done because I HAVE to write a review for next week and I HAVE to have posts lined up for every day of the week. When that happens I have to take a step back, remember that I started this blog to vent about things, not to become a professional blogger, and think about how reading is supposed to be fun. That’s usually when I let myself read without thinking about just how I’m going to review it.

5. How long does it take you to create / find pictures to use?
Pictures? You can use pictures?!?! Just kidding. Usually I use the covers from goodreads, because they’re the perfect size. Usually I write my reviews and blog posts when I’m at work and it’s slow, so I try not to spend a lot of time looking for gifs/memes, and I don’t have personal photos on my work computer. So…it takes me like 20 seconds to pull up goodreads and find the book I want.

6. Who is your book crush? 
What kind of question is this?! I can’t decide that! Now I’m going to spend a half hour looking through my favorite list trying to decide, so thanks.

I DON’T KNOW.

The first three that come to mind, all for various reasons, are Fear, from Some Quiet Place (the unique factor, and because he’s so…ugh. Perfect), Khalid from The Wrath and the Dawn (because he’s dark and dangerous and has tiger eyes),  and Jacin from The Lunar Chronicles (because no one seems to live him, and I think in Winter he’s going to really take us all by surprise).

7. What author would you like to have on your blog?
Amie Kaufman. She’s a huge inspiration to me, and as a sci-fi lover, her books make my heart freak out with excitement. The top two books on my goodreads TBR are Their Fractured Light (Starbound #3, with Meagan Spooner, who is also awesome) and Illuminae (with Jay Kristoff, who is exactly the kind of person you would expect to write a butt-kicking science fiction novel).

8. What do you wear when you write your blog posts?
Work clothes. Today, jeans and a tank top and a really cool flowy artsy vest thing my mom found for me. My glasses, almost always. But that’s just today. If I’m not in work clothes, I’m probably in my pajamas writing a post to schedule for the next morning.

9. How long does it take you to prepare?
I don’t really prepare. It depends on the book I’m reading, and the type of post I want to do. Generally, I’ll flash post- my own term meaning I post something every day for about a week, then get burned out and can’t think, or fall into a reading slump. So there’s not a lot of ‘preparation’ involved, especially when it comes to short posts like WoW or Teaser Tuesday.

10. How do you feel about the book blogger community / culture?
I love it. It’s like awesomess in a bottle. Or…not a bottle. Something else. Other people who feel as strongly about books as I do? WHAT? AMAZING. It’s so nice to have people to rant with.

11. What do you think one should do to get a successful blog?
Don’t pressure yourself. Don’t make it so important to post something every day, or on specific days, because it’s not about that. It’s about expressing yourself when you feel the need. And don’t compare yourself to other bloggers, especially the ones that have been blogging for years. They’ve had so much time to work on their routine and their personal preferences, and newbies can’t even hope to be as organized and put-together as them. So make sure you’re just having fun and don’t make yourself upset over not posting or taking a break. It’s all good.

12. Who do you tag?
Let’s see. Just because I want them to hate me some more…..

Liran my love @ Hearts and Crowns because I know she loves that I do these things to her, and also she’s fantastic (don’t let her try to tell you otherwise)

Analee @ Book Snacks because she’s got an AWESOME blog, and I love her variety and all the cool things she posts.

Anyone else who wants to do it, feel free! And comment below so I can check it out!

One comment

  1. Sydney Bollinger · July 27, 2015

    Love this post! YAY for tags!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

