BOOKS I CAN’T REVIEW

I don’t like writing bad reviews. Especially not when I didn’t like the ending and I can feel in my bones that if I write a review, the whole thing would be negative, when in reality I liked the book up to the last 50 pages of so. So here’s a list of books I’ve read recently, but haven’t felt comfortable reviewing.

HOLD ME LIKE A BREATH ~~ TIFFANY SCHMIDT

So, here’s the deal: I loved this book so hard until the last 30 pages or so. And when I got to those last pages, I hated so hard that I just can’t write a review, because the whole thing will be a rant about how much I hate a particular person whom I shall not name so you all don’t have a spoiler. My problem is that I got VERY attached to some early characters who were involved in some VERY crazy plot twists that basically ruined my life and covered me in emotional trauma scars. So there’s that. But most of the book was awesome, and the writing was really good, I just can’t get past that ending. And the love triangle- GOSH, THE LOVE TRIANGLE. I HATE LOVE TRIANGLES. So there’s that. And now I want to rant some more, but I don’t want to do that to you all, so we’re moving on.

AN EMBER IN THE ASHES ~~ SABAA TAHIR

Okay. Overall, I didn’t like this book. I mostly kept reading it because my favorite person kept ALMOST dying, so props to Sabaa for getting me to finish. But mostly, AEITA left me feeling…confused. I didn’t know why Elias and Laia were so ‘drawn’ to each other, I didn’t know why Laia was involved at all, I didn’t know why Elias was such a *&^!@^% $&^#%$!@ ^#%$!@ &#^%(&^% and let everything bad happen when if he had just sucked up his ‘poor me, I want to be free’ attitude, none of that would have happened, I didn’t know why he was that impressive in the first place when he never once did what needed to be done to save his friends- or even the majority of people. He just let one person stand in the way and that, in turn, let a whole bunch of other people close to him die. So I guess my major problem was with the characters, but once again, I get into a rant about them and I seem like I hated the book, when in reality, I just felt…indifferent to everything that happened.

THE HEIR ~~ KEIRA CASS

Honesty time: I didn’t actually READ read this book. I skimmed it, read the highlights, got the general picture, and moved on. As you could probably from above, I despise love triangles. And this book is like a love….tridecagon. I don’t think that’s a word, but I don’t know what shape has enough sides. I managed to push through it in the Selection series (in book one, at least- 2 and 3 I skimmed as well) because it was from the point of view of a Selectee, not a Selector, but The Heir is all about the princess choosing a boy. And let’s get real- that’s not that interesting. I don’t need all her drama, I don’t need her ‘torn’ feelings or no feelings at all, I just want there to be a clear contender for the spot. It was just too girly for me- and I didn’t want to roll my eyes that hard. They might have gotten stuck in the back of my head.

PLAY  ON ~~ MICHELLE SMITH

I had a problem with every part of this book. All of it. I didn’t want to review it because it would just have ended up sounding hateful because I really couldn’t find anything I liked about it. The writing was average, the characters were cliche, and there were a lot of things I didn’t appreciate about the way the story progressed. I don’t like writing hate reviews, especially for my personal blog, so I just didn’t review it and moved on to another book.

THERE YOU HAVE IT

Several books I read this year were not cohesive to my reviewing desires. Sometimes you just can’t find it withing yourself to write a bad review of a book that really wasn’t that bad, or one that you just didn’t agree with. That’s what I found with there four in particular that I could remember.

Do you agree? Disagree? What books have you read this year that you really didn’t want to review?

6 comments

  1. libbycole007 · July 14, 2015

    Good on you for actually putting the bad reviews out there, though! Short and sweet, best way to do it. People need to know which books not to waste their time with. Or at least go in with proper warning!

    http://libbycole.wordpress.com

    Like

  2. aentee @ read at midnight · July 17, 2015

    I’ve only read AEITA but I agree, Laia and Elias’s romance is the most unbelievable attraction ever. I love Helene, though!

    Like

    • kayrosela · July 17, 2015

      Hooray! I’m glad I’m not just totally out in the woods by myself 🙂

      Like

  3. Dani W · July 20, 2015

    Uh oh, one of my books for my read-a-thon this week is AEITA… Let’s see how that goes…

    I think, for me, there are two scenarios in which I struggle to review a book. The first is when I didn’t like a book but don’t want to be mean. The second is when I loved a book SO MUCH that I can’t even begin to put my feelings into words. Know what I mean?

    Like

    • kayrosela · July 20, 2015

      YES. I should definitely do a new post about the ones I loved too much to describe.

      Like

  4. Pingback: BABY BOOK REVIEW: (ARC) THE SCORPION RULES | BOOKMARKS

Leave a Reply

