WoW: VENGEANCE ROAD

SADDLE UP, COWGIRLS

It’s time for another Waiting on Wednesday, an event hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine. This week I’ve chosen a book very close to my heart (or it will be, as soon as I read the whole thing) written by the talented Erin Bowman, it’s the story of revenge, riding, and ruffians in the Ole’ West, hitting the shelves September 1, 2015. Here it is, folks:

*CUE WILD WEST STANDOFF MUSIC* 

(that cover, guys)

HERE’S THE SUMMARY

     When Kate Thompson’s father is killed by the notorious Rose Riders for a mysterious journal that reveals the secret location of a gold mine, the eighteen-year-old disguises herself as a boy and takes to the gritty plains looking for answers and justice. What she finds are devious strangers, dust storms, and a pair of brothers who refuse to quit riding in her shadow. But as Kate gets closer to the secrets about her family, she gets closer to the truth about herself and must decide if there’s room for love in a heart so full of hate.      In the spirit of True Grit, the cutthroat days of the Wild West come to life for a new generation. 

HERE’S WHY I’M PUMPED

Yeah, I’m a cowgirl at heart. I have been since I knew what a horse was. YA doesn’t have enough of this- the Wild West revenge story that features a fierce heroine who does things without the approval of a man and without worrying over every step. Kate’s not an outgoing cheerleader decimated by a terminal illness, she didn’t suddenly realize the virtues of the nerd who has cancer, and she’s not pining over the captain of the football team or the bad boy who has a heart of gold. She’s tough, she’s fearless, and she’s not mopey. Thank GOD she’s not mopey. Am I the only one who gets tired of every MC girl having at least a chapter where she mourns the time when life was simpler in a series of cutesy flashbacks? There’s a time and place, but there’s simply not enough of this type of book- an adventure story ripped from a history book, a dangerous chase through the wilds of the old west.

Okay, and as mentioned, Erin Bowman is awesome. She’s got enough twang in her writing to make it believable, but not so much that it overpowers the story (as mentioned in the Author Spotlight this week). As a proud member of the Vengeance Road Posse (see that awesome button over on the right?) I can tell you that what she’s released to us, her street team, makes me absolutely drool to get my next fix. I really don’t know what I’m going to do when it’s all said and done- I can’t think of any books I’m this excited for and that I’m this involved in promoting/loving/thinking about. We’ll see when September 1st passes us by whether I’m in a state of lonely despondency without a posse to rally with.

So, everyone, saddle up and get ready for vengeance!

Goodreads | VR Posse on Twitter | Erin Bowman on Twitter | Amazon | Barnes & Noble

     Questions? Comments? Books you’d like me to review? Post a comment below and I’ll be sure to check it out!

Leave a Reply

