UNINVITED

“Prove them wrong.”

Official Summary:

When Davy Hamilton’s tests come back positive for Homicidal Tendency Syndrome (HTS)-aka the kill gene-she loses everything. Her boyfriend ditches her, her parents are scared of her, and she can forget about her bright future at Juilliard. Davy doesn’t feel any different, but genes don’t lie. One day she will kill someone.

Only Sean, a fellow HTS carrier, can relate to her new life. Davy wants to trust him; maybe he’s not as dangerous as he seems. Or maybe Davy is just as deadly.

My thoughts:

     I wanted to really like this book, and for a while, there in the middle, I really did. The beginning was slow, a little too much high school drama for a book that promised action and thrills, but I thought it painted an interesting portrait of what could potentially happen in our future- if science isolates a gene that marks people for something they may not become, but it’s easier to keep them all quarantined, what would society become? So yes, I did like the new perspective. But I found the characters lacking- Davy, at least. She keeps thinking that her world will go back to being perfect, and even though it’s intentional- I know Jordan wanted to portray someone who never expected it adjusting to the lower class of society- it drags on a little too much. I love Sean, but the romance seems rushed and confusing- borne of convenience, not of any real attachment (which may be a correct assumption- in the summaries of book 2, Unleashed, that I’ve seen, Sean isn’t even mentioned and a new love interest appears) and is kind of shallow for what it prompts Davy to do. I suppose I liked it, even though as I think back there wasn’t a lot keeping me reading, but I won’t be revisiting the series for later books and I won’t give much thought to Davy and Sean after this.

What to Watch: (SPOILERS)

     The violence is probably the most prominent thing to be careful of in this book. There is death, people are beaten, all to show how the gene affects people- say they’re a monster, and they’ll become one. Davy kills a man when Sean’s life is threatened, and there are numerous occasions of violence throughout the book, especially when Davy her friends are sent to a training camp where the government is trying to mold their genetics into killing machines for the military instead of just violent kids on the street.

     This novel did include some romance, and Davy and Sean’s kissing gets pretty heavy sometimes, even though nothing happens. A girl in the cage with Davy is taken advantage of by the teacher frequently, for ‘protection’ from their peers, and the teacher tries to make the same ‘arrangement’ with Davy, which she refuses.

     As far as language goes, there were a few occasions, but not too many.

Honestly, I didn’t love this book, and I’m not dying for more, but I did like the fact that it was a realistic fiction from the near future- I could easily see this situation (or one like it) taking place here in the United States- or any modern country, for that matter. Of course, it’s always your choice what to read, so read on!

Questions? Comments? Have a book you’d like me to review? Post a comment below and tell me what you think!

Leave a Reply

